Welcome in IGEWE

Introduction to the Institute of GeoSciences

The  Institute of GeoSciences, Energy, Water and Environment  is a national research unit that operates under the umbrella of the Polytechnic University of Tirana. From the organizative viewpoint it is designed in four main departments.
These departments are:

  1. Department of Meteorology
  2. Department of Geology
  3. Department of Seismology
  4. Department of Hydrology

The management organs of Institute are:

  1. Board of Institute
  2. Director
  3. Head of Departments

The mission of Institute of GeoSciences, Energy, Water and Environment is to improve scientific research in the field of geoinformation in Albania through:

  1. carrying out scientific and applicative research
  2. leading the in depth education process of students and young researchers
  3. undertaking third party services in the fields of seismology, natural resources, georisks, geoengineering and geoinformation techonology

The main tasks of this Institute are:

  1. to study geological phenomena  as geophysics, geochemistry, geomechanics etc and to build upon geological and thematic maps;

National Centre for Forecast and Monitoring of Natural Risks


Monitoring of seismic activity Center

Monitoring real-time 24/24 hours

Monthly Seismological Bulletin

Periodic publication of earthquake wave data, source parameters and their magnitudes...